Matte Karjalainen and Ronny Albrigtsen Chip Millionaires on Day 1b

Day 1b of the €300,000 guaranteed 2024 Malta Poker Festival Spring Edition €550 Grand Event is in the books with a banner turnout of 291 entries to bring the total up to 468 entries when taking into account yesterday’s Day 1a with still four opening flights to go.

The day was scheduled to end once the field was down to 45 hopefuls to join the 27 players that found a bag on Day 1a into Sunday’s Day 2. However, Norway’s Ronny Albrigtsen sent two players packing in the same hand by delivering a bad beat to both Svajunas Seduikis and Pavle Peclej to end the day with more than 1 million in chips.

While this was better than the 858,000 that Day 1a chip leader Indre Stanaityte bagged on Wednesday, it wasn’t good enough to take the overall chip leader as Finland’s Matte Karjalainen earned that honor with nearly 1.3 million in chips after cruising most of the day.

Several other notable players found a bag including John Forsman, Garry Spinks, Angelo Vietti, Andrew Cutajar, Richard Kellett, Jonty Willis, poker author and The Chip Race podcast cohost Dara O’Kearney, Maltese all-time leading live tournament poker winner according to The Hendon Mob Joseph Grech, Cory Desmond, Mark Attard, and Antoine Talvard.

The action will resume on Friday at 1 p.m. with Day 1c. In the meantime, check out the chip counts from the Day 1b survivors below:

PlacePlayerChipsBig Blinds
1Matte Karjalainen1,269,000127
2Ronny Albrigtsen1,046,000105
3John Forsman695,00070
4Simon Taylor693,00069
5Kai Vater683,00068
6Lennart Bernett628,00063
7Emanuele Napolitano614,00061
8Jordan Dumas600,00060
9Garry Spinks578,00058
10Angelo Vietti546,00055
11Vilde Ekren506,00051
12Damjan Pulejkov477,00048
13Ian Tabone425,00043
14Krystian Nalepka413,00041
15Enes Hasic401,00040
16Niel Adams375,00038
17Andrew Cutajar370,00037
18Richard Kellett288,00029
19Aleksi Heikkinen284,00028
20Jonty Willis280,00028
21Dara O’Kearney265,00027
22Joseph Grech238,00024
23Igor Bukowski211,00021
24Stephen Barnes204,00020
25Lee McRoe204,00020
26Jan Stigter201,00020
27Per Alstig194,00019
28Thomas Cazaletz194,00019
29Paul Coles192,00019
30Gary Morgan158,00016
31Terence Newton150,00015
32Cory Desmond149,00015
33Ivan Furniet Martinez143,00014
34Alexander Jank136,00014
35James Paris128,00013
36Stefan Trevelyan117,00012
37Sven Lorenz114,00011
38Mark Attard87,0009
39Thore Boedefeld82,0008
40Julija Drevina82,0008
41Paul Hopper75,0008
42Antoine Talvard48,0005
43Matthew Gray30,0003

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *